Newton North Library Learning Commons

United States History / Junior Thesis

This page is designed to help students who have a working thesis statement.  If you need help getting started, see "Coming up with a topic", "Narrowing your topic", or "Tips for writing a thesis statement".

On this page: Journals & Magazines | Websites

Want to know if a book exists anywhere in the world?  Check Worldcat.  Want to see what's available in the NNHS Library or nearby?  Start with our Libary Catalogs and Websites page

U.S. History in Context
"Hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History." Includes "full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience."

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Over 700,000 reference articles from published reference books. Includes History in Dispute, a fantastic series that basically acts as an encyclopedia of junior thesis topics.  The best volumes in this set for you include:

History in DisputeHistory in Dispute , Vol. 1 : The Cold War: First Series
History in Dispute , Vol. 2 : American Social and Political Movements, 1945-2000: Pursuit of Liberty
History in Dispute , Vol. 3 : American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945: Pursuit of Progress
History in Dispute , Vol. 4 : World War II, 1939-1943
History in Dispute , Vol. 5 : World War II, 1943-1945

History in Dispute , Vol. 6 : The Cold War: Second Series

History in Dispute , Vol. 7 : Water and the Environment Since 1945: Global Perspectives 
History in Dispute , Vol. 8 : World War I: First Series
History in Dispute , Vol. 9 : World War I: Second Series

History in Dispute , Vol. 11 : The Holocaust, 1933-1945
History in Dispute , Vol. 12 : The American Revolution, 1763-1789
History in Dispute , Vol. 13 : Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500-1888 

History in Dispute , Vol. 19 : The Red Scare After 1945

QuestiaDescribed as the "world's largest online library of full-text copyright cleared books", Questia also includes hundreds of thousands of journal and magazine articles, and useful research tools including project folders, online notetaking, citation makers, and more. Each student and staff member at NNHS has an individual username and login for Questia. For more information about using Questia check out these Youtube videos.
Search Using the New Questia School

Reading and Saving in Questia

opposing_viewpoints
Another great place to start.  Find two sides of many issues.

Gale Biography in Context

·Salem History
Milestone Documents in American History
, Milestone Documents in World History, Milestone Documents of American Leaders
These e-book "combines full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary". It is also available as print reference book sets in the library.
SIRS
Knowledge Source
covers the Leading Issues most studied and debated by students, Historic and Government Documents, Directories and Almanacs, and Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities
The Library of CongressAmerican Memory Project @ the Library of Congress
The American Memory Project
is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections, including the Nineteenth Century in Print, which comprises 1500 books and 23 periodicals published in the United States during the nineteenth century, primarily during the second half of the century. Also check out the Digital Collections for primary documents and interesting history memorabilia.
eb_logo.gif
Not only includes reference articles from the Encyclopedia Britannica, but also relevant magazine and journal articles, and links to the "Best of the Web".

Journal or magazine articles

JStorJournal Storage, described as "the scholarly journal archive", contains hundreds of publications with articles available in Adobe Acrobat (pdf) format, some dating back hundreds of years. JStor is particulary strong in history and social sciences. To access from home, see a librarian at NNHS for password.
Gale PowerSearch
Cross-searches 12 Gale databases: Gale General OneFile, Academic OneFile , Health Reference Center Academic, General Business File ASAP, Gale Virtual Reference Library , Educator's Reference Complete, Student Edition, The New York Times (1995 - present), Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Massachusetts History Online, and Student Resource Center - Bronze. Find additional information about all these on this master list of Gale databases.
 

Websites to Explore

Boston Public Library History and Political Science Electronic Resources
You need to use your BPL library card to access these valuable sources of information. To sign up for a temporary library card number and start using the BPL's vast electronic collection, click here.
Making of America (MOA) (University of Michigan)
The Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in late 19th century American social history. The collection is strong in the subjects of education, psychology, history, sociology, religon and science and technology. See also Cornell University's additional contributions to the Making of America project.
New Deal Network Educational site focused on the programs of FDR's New Deal. Includes Speeches, letters, photographs, and more.
HarpWeek
Online exhibits featuring primary source material (including articles and political cartoons) from the 19th century Harper's Weekly . Exhibits focus on the abolition of slavery (13th Amendment), black voting rights (15th Amendment), the impeachment of Andrew Johnson, Hayes v. Tilden, and presidential elections as depicted in policital cartoons from 1860 to 1912.
National Archives Archival Research Catalog (ARC)
The Archival Research Catalog (ARC) is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries.
National Archives and Records Administration Exhibit Hall
The largest repository of American documents offers many of them on this section of their website.
FBI's Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
Declassified documents available alphabetically by topic, or under "Espionage", "Famous Persons", "Gangster Era", "Historical Interest", "Unusual Phenomena", and "Violent Crime".
National Security Archive (George Washington University)
Collects and publishes documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act.
American Political Prints, 1766-1876 (HarpWeek and Library of Congress)
AdAccess (Duke University)
Offers "over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
History Matters (City University of New York & George Mason University)
One of the best overall sites for U.S. history, includes resources, primary documents, teaching ideas, other history related links, and student projects.
American History Sourcebook (University of Oregon)
A collection of books and documents important to the history of the United States of America.
A Biography of America (PBS)
Companion website to television series originally aired on WGBH with the same name. Among episodes in American history are interactive timelines and maps.
Links to the Past (National Parks Service)
United States history through the National Parks, arranged by historical themes with links to specific park sites. Includes e-books and a section on maritime history.
National Museum of American History (Smithsonian Institution)
Contains digital counterparts to exhibitions at the museum (with images and descriptions of some of the items) on military history, civil rights, and much more.
Oyez: Supreme Court Multimedia (Oyez Project)
This multimedia database about the United States Supreme Court includes audio of oral arguments, abstracts of key constitutional cases, and information on Supreme Court justices.
Avalon Project (Yale University Law School)
Documents in Law, History, and Goverment arranged by time period.
Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia)
Data describing the population and economy of US states and countries from 1790 to 1960.
LexisNexis Primary Sources in U.S. History
Use your public library card number to access this database of primary documents.
Access to LexisNexis is provided by the Newton Free Public Library

Looking for books in print?

American History books shelved in the "973" section of library.

Also check out the Biography collection.

Try searching the library catalog by topic or keywords for books too.

Add comment


Security code
Refresh

News from the Newtonite, Nation & World

Good Reads

@LibraryTwitt

Look what Kubrick did to his copy of Stephen King's 'The Shining' @LACMA #bookadaptation ow.ly/i/1WRFh

Retweeted Monday, 22 April 2013 via Twitter for iPhone • 16 retweets

  PowerSearch (Gale)
Outside school? Use this link.
Search across Gale collections [about]
  Questia School (Questia)
An online library [about]
  Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
A digital reference collection [about]
  JStor (ITHAKA)
Journal articles [about]
  MAS Ultra (EBSCO)
Magazines, journals & more [about]
  Knowledge Source (SIRS)
Magazines, journals & more [about]
  BrainPOP (BrainPOP)
Exciting animations! [about]
  Britannica (Encyclopedia Britannica)
The entire encyclopedia and more [about]
  Marshall Cavendish Digital (Marshall Cavendish)
Specialized encyclopedias [about]

 

Contact us

Have a question? Need help?

Text us at (617)-28NNLLC
(617-286-6552)

E-mail:
Ms. Johns

Mr. McGrath
Ms. Tate

TXT NNHSLLC to 50500 or scan this code to add our contact info to your device:
Scan to receive our virtual business card on your device! 

Loading ...