The Industrial Revolution

Books | Encyclopedias | Primary Sources | Inventions

Books

Industrial Revolution: 330.9, 909.81 | Inventions: 608-609 | British Industrial Revolution: 942.03

icon Industrial Revolution: Bibliography (47.49 kB)


 

Reference Articles

salemhistoryGreat articles with documents, explanations and analysis. You need a password to access this outside school. Login in above to view the passwords.

Virtual Reference Library Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
A digital reference collection [about]

 

Encyclopedia BritannicaEncyclopedia Britannica

 


Primary Sources

Modern History Sourcebook -contains source material in modern European, American, and Latin American history, as well as a significant amounts of material pertinent to world cultures and global studies.

Charles Booth Online Archive Survey of living conditions

Life of the Industrial Worker Health effects on the worker

Chadwick's Report on Sanitary Conditions "Edwin Chadwick (1803-1890) had taken an active part in the reform of the Poor Law and in factory legislation. The Commission's report is the third of the great reports of this epoch."

Industrial Revolution Political Cartoons

BBC Political Cartoons as Primary Sources

 

Overviews

Industrial Revolution -from a group of European teachers

Workhouses

Encyclopedia of British History

Migration During the Industrial Revolution

Women's Role in the Industrial Revolution

 

Inventions/Inventors

Encyclopaedia of British History: Textile Industry

Covers domestic system, types of textile industries, inventors, entrepeneurs, life in a textile factory, factory workers, and child labour.

Famous Inventions: A-Z

Click the letter and scroll to your invention.

Industrial Revolution Inventions (About.com)
Clearinghouse of information...somewhat commercial but useful.

Man-Made to Machining - History of the Industrial Revolution
 

Powered by Bullraider.com
Gale Powersearch PowerSearch (Gale)
Outside school? Use this link.
Search across Gale collections [about]
icon_questia Questia School (Questia)
An online library [about]
JStor icon JStor (ITHAKA)
Journal articles [about]
Virtual Reference Library Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
A digital reference collection [about]
EBSCO Icon MAS Ultra (EBSCO)
Magazines, journals & more [about]
SIRS Icon Knowledge Source (SIRS)
Magazines, journals & more [about]
brainpop BrainPOP (BrainPOP)
Exciting animations! [about]
Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints(Gale)
Two sides of many issues [about]
Britannica Icon Britannica (Encyclopedia Britannica)
The entire encyclopedia and more [about]
Marshall Cavendish Marshall Cavendish Digital (Marshall Cavendish)
Specialized encyclopedias [about]

Help Citing Sources

Two free services to help you create citations:
Easybib
Now, EasyBib Premium
access!

free trial for all students and teachers
www.easybib.com

Bibme
"Leave the formatting to us"

Remember, nearly all of our databases, such as those provided by Gale, JStor, SIRS, EBSCO, Questia School, Marshall Cavendish and Salem Press all include citations with each document.  Just copy and paste!

Also try WorldCat.org, which will format citations for almost any book in existence!

For more, see "How do I cite my sources?"

Creative Commons License: Attribution Share-Alike Newton North High School Library Learning Commons.  Licensed Under Creative Commons.

Newton North High School
457 Walnut Street,  Newton, MA 02460
617-559-6290